Cosplay | Cinderella Cosplay Debut

Bibbidi bobbidi boo… As if by magic, I have finally become the one and only Cinderella! I debuted my latest Disney Princess cosplay at a local carnival. I made sure to get plenty of photos afterwards… and here they are!IMG_2573

As always, I like to talk a little about the details of my costumes and why I decided to cosplay the character…

Cinderella is, along with Alice and Elsa, one of the top Disney characters I get told I look most like in real life (I have blonde hair and blue eyes). It’s quite ironic, because as a child, I wasn’t a massive fan of Cinderella. I liked it, but I didn’t connect to the story much the same way I did The Little Mermaid or Beauty And The Beast. But as I got older, I started to enjoy the movie for what it stands for – an independent woman who overcomes sadness, hardship and abuse, and is rewarded for her kindness, courage and virtue. I feel that the live action movie did a better job of making this message even clearer for the audience, with Ella’s motto “have courage, be kind.” I believe the world would be a much nicer place if everyone followed that rule the same way Ella does!

While I’d love to cosplay live action Ella’s beautiful butterfly ballgown one day, I decided to cosplay classic Cinderella as I think I physically, naturally resemble her more. Sourcing the gorgeous gown was easy – Angel Secret is my go-to for princess ballgowns! I got the version with sequins on the bodice and a big bow that attaches to the back of the dress. I also got the matching gloves and headband from the store too. I made my choker myself from black ribbon and a press-stud so it fits my neck perfectly.

I was recommended WigMeOut by a friend for my wig, and when the stylist said she’d be happy to create my dream custom Cinderella wig for me I was thrilled! I went for a side fringe with little ringlets either side of the face in the style of the Disney Princess franchise redesign, which is my personal favourite version of animated Cinderella’s costume.

My make-up for Cinderella is only slightly different to my other princess make-up routines. For my eyes, I took inspiration from the Disney Park’s face character make-up and used blue and silver tone eyeshadow, before adding my signature eyelashes of choice from Ardell. Other than my strip lashes, the only brand I use is Kryolan. I swear by it, it’s perfect for performers as it literally lasts all day with little-to-no retouching required! I especially love how pigmented the colours are, it means applying the products are quick, easy with minimal effort.

Of course, the most iconic part of Cinderella’s costume is her glass slippers… and what a chore they were to find! I found a few different styles online but they all looked kind of tacky, I wanted a pair that would look genuine. Just like Cinderella, I have tiny feet (a UK 3) so finding the right size proved painful too. Eventually, after much searching the web (and feeling just like Prince Charming when he couldn’t find Cinders throughout the whole kingdom) I FINALLY found a pair I fell in love with on Ebay of all places. Sure, they have butterflies and not hearts, but I just like to think that they are a nod to how much I personally love the live action, of which features butterflies, and therefore fits in with storytelling. They are see-through just like glass, the kids I met at the carnival were enthralled by them and believed they were the real deal. Oh, and Ella’s fairy godmother is right – they are REALLY comfortable!

I have to say… I think Cinderella is my new favourite character to cosplay! Apart from Alice I’ve been mostly renaissance-modern era Disney characters so it’s a nice change to be a classic, graceful golden age Disney girl. If you want to know more about Cinderella, make sure you check out my 50 Facts about the movie!

IMG_2624Let me know in the comments who you would like to see me cosplay next!

image

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

1 thought on “Cosplay | Cinderella Cosplay Debut”

Leave a Reply

