Cosplay | Belle ‘Beauty & The Beast’ Debut

So, after 6 months of putting together this cosplay, I present to you one of my all-time favourite Disney princesses from childhood – Belle from Beauty & The Beast!

At the beginning of this month, I debuted Belle for a party event, in which she donated the proceeds to Make A Wish UK to help grant more magical wishes for children most in need of them. Here are some photos Belle posed for after the event!
As I mentioned at the start, I’ve had been putting Belle together for quite some time. The original plan was to debut her at an October con, but when I learned that a little princess I know wanted to invite Belle to her party, I sped up the process, making sure I’d have the complete costume ready in time!

Belle is quite a contrast to my cosplays I’ve done so far, and is the one that looks the most different to the “real me”. She’s brunette, and has brown eyes, so that meant a complete departure from my blonde hair and natural blue eyes! I treated myself to some brown contact lenses to fully embody the right features. My wig I ordered from the same wig styler I had gone with before… Unfortunately, when it arrived, the bun had only about 6 wide pins barely keeping it in place and the rhinestone hairpiece was hanging off. Not quite what I anticipated, which was a shame as I was very pleased with my Rapunzel wig from them. The styling wasn’t terrible either, it just wasn’t anywhere near as secure as I would have liked it, considering I will be moving around a lot at events. The upside was that the hair is of gorgeous soft quality with bouncy curls, the colour is a rich deep brunette and looks very natural, so I decided to restyle it myself, giving the front sections more volume and placing the bun slightly higher on the wig (to prevent heaviness) with many more pins and a bun net to keep it nice and tidy. What you see in the photos is the finished product!

Although I’ve worn princess gowns before (as Elsa and Rapunzel), this was my first time wearing a full widened skirt, complete with a giant 6 hoop petticoat! This is the biggest petticoat I’ve ever worn in my life (even my prom petticoat was only 3 hoops) but despite the size, it’s actually incredibly comfortable, lightweight and makes the skirt stand out into a wonderful domed shape. I will tell you now though, getting in and out of a car was a full 5 minute, two-person job! I love the different shades of yellow used to make up the different layers, they blend together lovely! Roses are everywhere in the details, from the centre of the top, to all around the skirt, and even hidden in the pattern on the corset material. I ended up going with a smaller version of the chandelier style park earrings, as they don’t interfere with my wig whatsoever, and aren’t too heavy. My shoes are golden pumps with a wide 1 inch heel and tiny buckled strap. They both look the part and are sensible all at the same time!

I honestly couldn’t be happier with the finished results. I had so much fun being Belle, and can’t wait to be in her mesmerising yellow gown again soon for more upcoming events!

Which princess should I cosplay next? Let me know in the comments, and it may just happen!

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

