Lifestyle | Catch Up With Me | 1st Cosplay Of The Year, Disney Store 30th Anniversary & Summer Plans

Hi everyone! Can you believe it’s April already?! About time I updated you all on what’s been going on, am I right?!

I’m not gonna lie – March wasn’t really “the best“. But it wasn’t the worst, either. So, I’m just gonna go ahead and share with you a couple of major highlights from the month!

Saturday 25th March was the first cosplay meet-up of the year, Geeks Unite Norwich. It was a very casual affair, with only around 20 attendees or so, but it was also the 1st ever Geeks Unite meet-up, so that was a pretty good turn-out, considering! Me and my fellow princess pal Bethany attended in our latest assembles; Beth as Aurora, and myself as Rapunzel! Having the meet-up in Chapelfield Gardens meant we got lots of wonderful photos with the surrounding flowers, trees and a tower-like bandstand, and for the first time, I actually got some video footage too of us singing and dancing (you can find these on my Instagram “mandyjeanworld“)! I’ll be posting a full review of the day complete with all the photos soon. For now, enjoy this enchanting snap of us together!

Tuesday 28th March was a very special day indeed – Disney Store turned 30 years of age! A little Disney Store history: The first ever Disney Store was opened in Glendale, California in 1987, and the first UK store (which also happened to be the first ever overseas store too) opened on Regent St, London in 1990. My local Disney Store first opened in Castle Mall, Norwich in 1994, before moving into Intu Chapelfield, Norwich in 2005… Which is where I’ve been working as a Cast Member for nearly a year now! Getting to be involved with all the celebrations in-store was so much fun, I love my role as a Cast Member so much and having the opportunity to work for a company I hold so dear to my heart is a dream come true.

So, now we’re in April, I’m starting to try and put some plans together for the Summer. There’s gonna be another cosplay meet-up towards the end of this month (I’m still undecided about what cosplay I’ll be wearing). Some very exciting news is that I’ve been asked to portray Buffy Summers herself for a Buffy 20th Anniversary cosplay photo-shoot, which is honestly like the best opportunity ever because I’m a HUGE Buffy fan, and I’ve only cosplayed her once before for a party, so it’ll be brilliant to have some proper pro shots of her in action, going about her slayer duties once more!

Further ahead, I’m hoping that 2017 is the year I FINALLY make it to MCM London. It’s gotta be, right?! I’ll more likely be headed there in October as opposed to May. I’ll also be attending Nor-Con again this year – a two day event this time! I also am feeling the urge to get back into pole fitness. I’ve been mainly working out at home the past couple of months but I miss going to sessions every week, so will have to book a course soon. Pole fitness is the best experience I’ve ever had exercising and I wholly encourage anyone and everyone whatever your age, strength or size to get involved. It’s friendly and fun!Β 

That’s all for now – until next time!image

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

2 thoughts on “Lifestyle | Catch Up With Me | 1st Cosplay Of The Year, Disney Store 30th Anniversary & Summer Plans”

    1. Aww that’s so sweet, thanks Hannah! I had some costume bits arrive today, I’m so excited to debut the next one as I’ve wanted to cosplay this one for a very long time haha! πŸ˜ƒπŸ’• xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

