Pop Culture | World Book Day Special | Our Favourite Disney Princesses & Heroines

Happy World Book Day! I hope you’re having a great day celebrating by catching up on your favourite tales, or maybe by reading new adventures in the great wide somewhere.

I was recently inspired by Disney‘s “Dream Big, Princess” campaign to create a post on our beloved Disney Princesses and heroines. Too often, I hear too many non-magical folk describe Disney females as “not being healthy role models” for children, and I want to prove them wrong. If it wasn’t for being able to look up to such wonderfully determined characters as a child (and thanks to my lovely mum for popping the tapes into the good ol’ VHS player), I don’t think I would’ve achieved half as much in life as I have, thanks to being inspired by the lovely ladies of Disney. But of course, as one person, I can’t prove anything alone. So I reached out to fellow members of the Disney community on social media to join me in celebrating our favourite Disney women! So without further ado, here’s everyone’s favourite Disney Princesses/Heroines and why they love them…

“I have a real connection to Jessie from Toy Story; ‘Jessie never gives up, Jessie finds a way‘, it’s a pretty good motto to live by. Not only that, she gets hurt but she learns to trust people again, and that’s important.” – Hoodsie, via Twitter @duffydoesdisney
Blog: http://www.duffydoesdisney.wordpress.com

Aurora, because she is so kind-hearted, pure, gracious and romantic. She is also kind to animals.” Nic, via Instagram @_nicoohlala
Blog: http://www.nicoohlalablog.wordpress.com

“I love Judy Hopps. She reminds me everyday that I can achieve my dreams just as long as I have the courage to try.” –Emily, via Twitter @ejh92x
Blog: http://www.hollywoodandlime.wordpress.com

Rapunzel; she knows what she wants and goes for it!” Carrie, via Instagram @onceuponabowtiqueuk
Shop: http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/onceuponabowtiqueuk

“Mine is Jane Darling from Return To Neverland; she struggles with the idea of believing in magic when she grows up, and yet she’s so strong and stays true to herself. I think she’s so underrated!” – Maddy, via Twitter @mickeyandmaddyx
Blog: http://www.mickeyandmaddy.wordpress.com

Rapunzel; she has a dream and doesn’t let anything get in the way.” Nicholla, via Instagram @onlineme187_
Blog: http://www.nichollablog.wordpress.com

“At the moment, I’m between Belle and Judy Hopps. Both step outside the norm and find their place in the world despite prejudice.” – Emma, via Twitter @EmmaS_92
Blog: http://www.onceuponadisneyblog.wordpress.com

Ariel; she follows her heart and she doesn’t think about the dangers but she goes with it and I can relate to that… And I love mermaids!” Kayleigh, via Instagram @kaykaybroome

Esmeralda is my favourite Disney heroine because she is a strong woman who is not afraid to stand up for what she believes in.” – Kelly, via Twitter @unipal390
Blog: http://www.facebook.com/unipal390cosplay

“For me, it has to be Belle. She is proud to be different than anyone else, has huge respect and love for her family and has enough courage to take her father’s place in the Beast’s castle. She never backs down about what she believes in but accepts the Beast’s flaws, falling in love with him unconditionally. She is also kind and open-minded, and damn those vocals are amazing!” – Charlie, via Instagram @charlieareynolds

“I like Ariel because she was my fave as a child. But now I like Moana, because I identify with her longing for an adventure!” – Hazel, via Twitter @fleur_charms
Blog: http://www.fleurcharms.co.uk

Belle will always be my favourite. She’s intelligent, kind-hearted, sees the beauty in everyone and taught us that being ‘different‘ or ‘odd‘ is a wonderful thing. Plus, she’s a fellow bookworm!” Regan, via Instagram @booksandballgowns

“Princess Tiana, because she teaches us to always dream big and to work hard for those dreams!” Kat, via Instagram @kat_last
Blog: http://www.katlast.com

“I’ve always felt a connection with Jane Porter; she’s adventurous, artistic, curious and brave.” Laura, via Twitter @Laura_AliceS
Blog: http://www.lauraalices.wixsite.com/secondblogtotheright

Rapunzel; she’s clever, brave, knows what she wants and will do anything to get it. Her love knows no bounds to her family.” Meg, via Twitter @BeingMissBlonde
Vlog: http://www.youtube.com/beingmissblonde

“I think Judy Hopps is a fantastic heroine! She is a role model for all. She promotes ‘you can be whoever you want to be‘ no matter where you’re from or who you are. I think Walt Disney would’ve loved her too. ‘If you can dream it, you can do it‘ as he said!” Jamie, via Instagram @onceuponablog2015
Blog: http://www.onceuponablogmydisneyfamily.wordpress.com

“My fave has to be Mulan, for fighting for her people despite the risks she took.” Kelly, via Twitter @KelisityAnne
Vlog: http://www.youtube.com/c/kelisity

Esmeralda. Her ‘I ask for nothing, I can get by. But I know so many less lucky than I‘ (‘God Help The Outcasts’) should be a motto for all of us.” – Peter, via Twitter @Disney_Pieter

Rapunzel, because she is a daydreamer like me. Goofy, naive, but loyal and trusting.” – Ellie, via Twitter @Disney_Sundae
Vlog: http://www.youtube.com/user/initiallycamerashy

Belle, because she taught me to accept your passions and interests no matter what anyone else thinks.” – Danielle-Laura, via Twitter @TinkerDanielle

imageThank you to everyone who took part, and I hope you all enjoyed reading about everyone’s favourite princesses and heroines! Now, I thoroughly agree with all the answers above, but I wish to give honourable mentions to some more of my personal faves:

Snow White; for remaining full of hope and smiling her way through a perilous time in her life, still believing in the possibility of a better future.

Cinderella; ‘have courage, be kind‘, the motto Ella lives by, is a motto that I believe all little boys and girls should grow up with for a beautiful, peaceful world.

Alice; for curiosity is not always a bad thing, it can lead you to many new wonderful adventures and you’ll come out the other side knowing more than you did before.

Wendy Darling; for although you will mature, Wendy showed us that growing up doesn’t mean you have to stop believing in magic.

Tinker Bell; because instead of wasting away her unique abilities, she learns to use them to her community’s advantage, and realises she loves her talent for it is what makes her special.

Mary Poppins; for showing us that education and learning can not only be fun, but also magical.

Eilonwy; if it wasn’t for this GIRL, Taran would still be locked in the Horned King’s dungeon, proving her strong, witty and intelligent beyond her years.

Jasmine; for refusing to be a royal political pawn in the strict high society of her time and accepting human beings for who they are on the inside from all walks of life.

Pocahontas; for her desire to learn and grow from the natural world around her and sharing her passion for the Earth with others.

Megara; for surviving a heartbreaking betrayal, changing her pessimistic outlook on life and learning to love again.

Kida; even after 8000 years, Kida’s strong-willed spirit still yearns to save her people from eventual extinction, and she welcomes strangers in hopes of learning more from other cultures.

Nani; at a young age she showed great selflessness and commitment to her only remaining family, her younger sister Lilo, as she continued to power through even the toughest of times so that the two would never be separated.

Giselle; for she finds positivity and perseverance in whatever abnormal situation she finds herself in, and gives unconditional kindness to those around her.

Charlotte “Lottie” La Bouff; Lottie’s riches did not separate her from her friendship with Tiana, and she selflessly chose to give her best friend her happy ending over her own because that was what made Lottie truly happy.

Vanellope Von Schweetz; despite being outcast by her community, Vanellope remains delightfully chipper and decides being a “glitch” shouldn’t stop her doing what she loves most.

Merida; for being fearless, daring and brave enough to take her fate into her own hands.

Anna; for showing the ultimate compassion, support and love for her sister, believing in her even after the whole kingdom thought Elsa to be a ‘monster‘.

Elsa; because sometimes, you just need to lift the weight of your problems from your shoulders and ‘let it go‘!

Who is your favourite Disney Princess/Heroine? Let me know in the comments!image

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

7 thoughts on “Pop Culture | World Book Day Special | Our Favourite Disney Princesses & Heroines”

    1. You’re more than welcome, Jamie, thank you for contributing! I love that you mentioned that you feel Walt would’ve approved of Judy, I think it’s super important that the modern Disney characters are carrying on his legacy! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I’m glad. Well as a huge fan of the main man himself, it’s nice to think he would have approved, and I think he’d be very happy with the recent films and characters. X

        Like

    1. Me too! It’s hard to tell from the photo but I have the bigger versions from Disney Store, I feel like they are the ultimate storybooks! I wanna collect the rest of the princess-centric stories. I bet your bunting looks amazing! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

