Art | Belle Of The Ball | Colour Pencil Sketch | 100th Post Special!

Hi everyone! Today’s post officially marks 100 blog posts here at Mandy Jean World – How the time flies! I recently sketched this picture of a 1700’s period-accurate Belle, so I thought it was high-time I shared it with you all on here.

My inspiration for this piece was actually fuelled by my distaste of the new yellow gown in the upcoming live action Beauty & The Beast. I absolutely love the original Disney animation (I’d go as far as saying it’s possibly my second all-time favourite Disney movie) but I’ll be honest and say that, from what I’ve seen of it so far, I’m not liking much about the new production. For me, I feel it would’ve faired better from an unknown lead actress, dropping it as a musical (like the live action Cinderella, Alice In Wonderland and Maleficent movies did) to stop it being compared with the perfection of the original, and an entirely different wardrobe department.

I feel the costumes, specifically Belle’s yellow gown, look too modern. Beauty & The Beast takes place in 1700’s pre-revolutionary France, where the outfits were big and bold with many beautiful embroidered patterns, lace detailing and corsets. Being a live action production, the costume department could’ve let their imagination run wild as it wasn’t bound by the limits of hand-drawn animation mechanics. The hair and make-up department could’ve made the best of some of the most iconic beauty fashions in history, with bouffant hairstyles, rich accessories and beautiful porcelain doll-like make-up. Instead, we got drab poorly-styled hair, barely any cosmetic enhancement and the most plain, boring interpretation of Belle’s ballgown I’ve ever seen that looks far too out of place giving the period the movie is set in.

So, I decided my dream Belle ballgown would look exactly like the above, as I’ve drawn it in my colour pencil sketch. Golden with yellow tones, button-corseted waist with dome hooped petticoat for widened hip effect, detailed rose-patterned embroidery, delicate lace edging and the classic off-the-shoulder neckline with long opera gloves. Her make-up consists of big doe-eyes, powdered face and soft rouge cheeks/lips. Belle’s hair is designed with big, bouffant curls decorated with pearl-encrusted golden rose accessories. Of course, being the ultimate bookworm, Belle is clutching a copy of one of her favourite classics, and the Beast is never far behind…

I hope you like her new reimagined look! Let me know what you would’ve liked to have seen Belle wear in the new live action remake in the comments.

image

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

