Movies | What I’ll Be Watching On The Big Screen In 2017

2017 is set to be a year of out-of-this-world blockbusters! So many big titles, and there’s only set to be even more as the year progresses, but here is a list of what I personally am looking forward to catching at my local cinema the most this year. Enjoy!

The LEGO Batman Movie (February 10th)
This movie is a combination of two things I love; LEGO, and Batman. Therefore, I am SUPER EXCITED for this… possibly more than any adult should be, but who cares! It’s Batman! It’s LEGO! EVERYTHING IS AWESOME!

Fifty Shades Darker (February 10th)
I was pleasantly surprised by how good the first movie was, especially since the book bored me to tears halfway through. Jamie Dornan returns as the captivatingly mysterious Christian Gray and Dakota Johnson reprises the ever-curious but strong-willed Anastasia Steele. As I never read the book, there’s no doubt this sequel is gonna be full of surprises!

Beauty And The Beast (March 17th)
The movie every Disnerd is raving about right now will finally grace the big screen in March. However, despite B&TB being my favourite Disney animated classic, I have mixed feelings about what I’ve seen of the live action adaptation so far… I’m just gonna have to give it a watch to find out if I’m wrong!

Power Rangers (March 24th)
This is definitely one of the more surprising franchises to get a gritty reboot! However, I grew up watching all the tv series and making my large collection of action figures beat each other to a pulp. From what I’ve seen of the trailers, the fresh new take on everyone’s favourite super powered teens is looking great.

Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 (May 5th)
The first GOTG was an absolute phenomenon, with catchy tunes, well-timed humour and action packed story. Col. 2 is set to be even more crazier, only this time with added cute factor in the form of BABY GROOT!!! So adorable!!!

Pirates Of The Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May 26th)
Jack Sparrow is back! Not much has been revealed about the 5th POTC movie, but it has been hinted that major characters from the first three movies will return for this story. The teaser trailer also introduced us to a new creepy, slimy nemesis of sorts, asking an I prisoner young man to find Jack. Who are these characters? Only time will tell!

Baywatch (May 26th)
Dwayne Johnson and Zac Efron running around shirtless as lifeguards in slow motion. Need I really say more?!

Wonder Woman (June 2nd)
After all these years, our beloved super heroine Amazon princess Wonder Woman is FINALLY getting her own movie! This installment is part of the DC Extended Universe, and Gal Gadot will be reprising the starring role from her captivating appearance in Batman Vs Superman, and this story is sure to shed some light on her mysterious character and how she came to be.

Cars 3 (June 16th)
The trailer has sent everyone into a tizzy over how dark this third main instalment in the Cars universe is. Things aren’t looking too good for Lightning McQueen! I guess we’re just gonna have to watch the movie to make sure our favourite vehicles live happily after ever… Or not?

War For The Planet Of The Apes (July 14th)
I’m a HUGE fan of this franchise, and with every sequel, the apes are slowing taking over the Earth piece by piece. As the title suggests, war is upon them. Woody Harrelson is set to star as a ruthless colonel leading a brutal army fixed upon bringing the downfall of ape leader Caesar (reprised once again by Andy Serkis).

IT (September 8th)
I swear I find nothing scarier than clowns, especially after being terrified of the original IT movies! Bill Skarsgård will be taking on the titular character of Pennywise in an all-new disturbing way, and the story will focus on the children’s first attempt at defeating IT.

Saw: Legacy (October 27th)
Just when we thought the franchise was over after 7 movies… There’s an 8th! The torture-centric movies are back in all their gory glory! I can’t wait to see what new tricks and traps will be waiting around the corner… Hopefully they’ll be bigger and better than ever!

Justice League (November 17th)
I’ve got to be honest; THIS is the movie I’m gonna be eagerly awaiting the most all year! The trailers so far have been fun, showing Bruce Wayne recruiting the members one by one with the help of Diana Prince. It has been heavily implied that Superman will return, but who knows? I just can’t wait!

Coco (November 22nd)
Pixar’s second movie this year after Cars 3 will be an original concept inspired by the bright and colourful Mexican folklore! Apart from that, we don’t know much more about Coco at the present moment, other than the story cantering around young boy Miguel, of whom’s family disapprove of music, fearing a curse. Miguel loves music, and sets to follow the path of one of his idols… When he accidentally ends up in the Land Of The Dead!

Star Wars: Episode VIII (December 15th)
Carrying on the exhilarating story of Episode VII: The Force Awakens, Episode VIII is looking incredible as ever and is set to delight the hearts of Star Wars fans everywhere, old and new!

Jumanji (December 22nd)
I’m sure you all know and love the 90’s movie Jumanji starring the late great Robin Williams about a dangerous jungle themed board game where the contents literally come to life. Well, this year we are being treated to a “spiritual continuation” of the original, starring man of the moment Dwayne Johnson as well as Kevin Hart, Karen Gillan and Jack Black. From the casting alone, it sounds like we’re in for a humour out ride!

Pitch Perfect 3 (December 22nd)
It’s time to be triple-pitch slapped! The last two Pitch Perfect movies have been good fun with plenty of wise-cracks and great acapella covers, so No. 3 is set to follow in similar fashion… only bigger and better, of course!

So, that concludes my full list of what I’m most excited to watch on the big screen in 2017! Will you be seeing any of the above? Be sure to tweet me or let me know in the comments!image

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

