Review | Dreamworks’ Trolls | Spoiler Free!

I’ve always loved Troll dolls. From the Good Luck Trolls of the 80’s to the magical girly cartoon of the 00’s, I’ve always found the big haired creatures so adorably cute (but, like, in an ugly way, if that’s possible!?) so I was completely excited to hear Dreamworks had made a musical movie starring Anna Kendrick and Justin Timberlake amongst many other great stars, such as James Corden, Zooey Deschanel, Christine Baranski, Russell Brand, Gwen Stefani… The voice list goes on!

I don’t want to give away too much of the story, but it’s a wonderfully colourful adventure, as Princess Poppy, the happiest Troll that ever lived, sets off on a journey with Branch, a rather grumpy pessimistic Troll, to save their kidnapped friends from miserable creatures called the Bergens, of whose only joy in life comes from eating Trolls!

I’ll admit that I’m actually not the biggest fan of Dreamworks movies. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the Shrek movies and I think How To Train Your Dragon was beautiful, but when it comes to animation, I’ll always prefer Disney, it’s just a personal preference. I prefer Disney‘s stories, humour and style. HOWEVER… After watching Trolls, and expecting it to be “good” but not “great”… I am mistaken. Trolls is easily, by far, the best Dreamworks movie since the original Shrek. I know that’s a strong statement, and not everyone will necessarily agree, but hear me out!

Trolls managed to create every element of a family movie correctly; spell-binding animation, catchy songs (most of which are covers of famous 80’s tunes, as well as a few fun originals), unique quirky characters (I love Poppy and Branch so much!), and a story that’s simple enough to follow but exciting enough to keep you gripped till the end. It’s rare I say this, but I honestly don’t have a bad word to say about this movie; it’s just super fun! Whatever your age, wherever you’re from, go see Trolls at your local cinema and just enjoy the gorgeous ride. You’re guaranteed to leave with your feet tapping!

My Social Media Links:
Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

