Lifestyle | Catch Up With Me | A Whirlwind Of A Month, My 22nd Birthday, London Plans, & A Tribute To Penny Lou

Hi everyone; it’s November and I’ve finally sat down to blog!

As I had been doing throughout the whole of October, I apologise for serial lack of posts. October, to me, was a never-ending month! I worked not one, not two, but three separate jobs in unison. Easier said than done, as I found out… So, just what DID I get up to in October?!

On the 8th, myself and my boyfriend enjoyed attending our first ever Nor-Con! While Rupert chose to stick with a simple Star Wars logo tee, I full out cosplayed everyone’s favourite Snow Queen; Elsa.imageThis was my 2nd ever appearance as Elsa… I was originally gonna cosplay Rapunzel or classic Alice for this event, but I had SO many requests to revive Elsa, even from the organisers themselves, so how could I possibly refuse?!

If you’ve never attended a Nor-Con before, please make it a priority on your Con-To-Do list. Everyone was so friendly, easy-going and welcoming, it was so lovely seeing so many familiar faces from past events as well as meeting wonderful new folks. Events like these are the reason I love to cosplay; we’re like one big family. Some of the highlights of the day were chatting away with fellow cosplayers (including fellow Disney princesses, all of which looked incredible), checking out the amazing displays and traders (me and Rupert both bought home SOOO much cool stuff, including figurines, art prints and exclusive 1st edition comic issues etc) and completely losing myself in character around the adorable children who loved getting special attention from Queen Elsa as they had their photo/video taken with her and spoke about all things Arendelle.

Speaking of losing myself in character…

imageYep, that’s me in the middle.

Well, technically, that’s Drusilla the Grinning Banshee, and I portrayed her for three weeks straight at a popular local scare attraction. If you do happen to know which one and you attended, you most likely saw Drusilla floating around the park with her undead friends in the form of deceivingly innocent children, clutching deformed, bandaged teddy bears. Drusilla didn’t speak much, and when she did open her slit-open mouth, it was to let out a high-pitched, blood-curdling scream. I should apologise… however, it’s kind of in a banshee’s nature to scream at people… so sorry-not-sorry!

imageThis was my second year as a scare actor, and for the most part, it’s fun. It’s hard work, but scaring is rewarding, and Drusilla certainly didn’t hold back! The main reason I enjoyed it though was getting to work with some great friends, old and new. My co-scarers are some of the most awesome people under the gruesome disguises, and I’m gonna miss them all!image

Two days after I finished scare-acting for the year, it was my 22nd birthday!

Unfortunately, this year’s birthday will be remembered for sadness; at around 9pm, after a happy day of celebrating with everyone, my beloved Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Penny Lou, had a sudden heart attack, and passed away in mine and my mother’s arms. She was 10 years old and the most precious, loving, caring dog you could ever meet, we all miss her so much already, especially her big sister, Maggie May, our gorgeous black Labrador.image

Rest In Peace, Penny Lou, my beautiful little princess. My only birthday wish this year was that you could’ve stayed with us forever.

Since the loss of Penny, I’ve slowly been trying to get back into the swing of things. Me and Rupert had a lovely weekend together; we finally saw Trolls at the cinema! All I’m gonna say for now is; IT’S AMAZING. GO SEE IT. I’ll post a review very soon!image

We also had fun trying out the new PlayStation VR. I love anything virtual reality and its just an incredible experience, despite the price it’s definitely on my wish list!imageDuring our time together we also finally got around to booking our London getaway in December – yay! We’re hoping to visit Winter Wonderland as well as Oxford Street, The London Bridge Experience & Tombs, and Ripley’s Believe It Or Not museum – but firsts thing’s first, and guess what we’ve got tickets for?…

WICKED!!! We’re FINALLY gonna see WICKED!!!!! I’M SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!

That’s everything for now. I hope you enjoyed reading this super long post! Catch you soon!image

My Social Media Links:
Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

