Lifestyle | My Top 5 Ways To Celebrate Halloween This Year

Hello guys and girls! I know my blog’s been quiet this month, so I do apologise. I’ve been busy holding fort with not one but three jobs, all of which has kept me very busy into the run-up to my favourite holiday of the year – Halloween! I thought I’d share with you all my personal top 5 ways I love to celebrate the spookiest season. Enjoy! (And yes, those are my dolls in the header photo… They have been known to move on their own. Just saying!) 

5. WATCH SOME CLASSIC MOVIES/TV SHOWS
The very first thing that got me hooked on Halloween as a child is all the amazing movies and TV shows. True to growing up in the 00’s, I loved The Nightmare Before Christmas, Hocus Pocus, Casper, Scooby-Doo and Sabrina The Teenage Witch. If Monster High was around when I was young, I would’ve been obsessed! Nowadays, I love the 80’s slasher genre (Nightmare On Elm Street, Halloween, Child’s Play) as well as newer horror flicks (The Conjuring, The Cabin In The Woods, Insidious) but my all-time favourites are horror-comedies such as Gremlins and An American Werewolf In London. TV-wise, what’s possibly better than binge-ing on Supernatural, American Horror Story, Tales From The Crypt or Buffy The Vampire Slayer this time of year?! The choices are endless, so get your Jeepers Creeper’s peepers fixed to the screen, and enjoy!

4. PLAY SOME SCARY VIDEO GAMES
I love a great horror RPG! I must admit, the Silent Hill series is my all time favourite to play – the mysterious fog, the lurking unknown, and a story so twisted it keeps you gripped. Other fun terrifying titles to test your bravery include Until Dawn, The Last Of Us, Fatal Frame, Corpse Party, Outlast, Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare, Dead Space, Left 4 Dead, Dead Rising, Ju-On: The Grudge, House Of The Dead: Overkill and, of course, the legend that is Slenderman. Too much to handle? Never fear – Fallout 4 has just the right balance of action and scares without going too over the edge… Having said that, I have been known to scream at Mirelurks getting all up in my virtual face before blasting them to pieces.

3. GO BACK-TO-BLACK WITH YOUR WARDROBE
Halloween is the ultimate time to invest in some elegant, dark witchy fashion. I’m talking Coven style – big floppy hats, tie-up capes, long flowing black skirts, cute heeled ankle boots. Or alternatively, go romantically gothic with burgundy flower crowns and matching lipstick. There’s so many gorgeous pieces on the high street at the moment, and this month is the best time to experiment with the dark side. Get creative, and have fun unleashing your inner Supreme!

2. VISIT A SCARE ATTRACTION OR TWO
What’s an All Hallow’s Eve without a little fright? Take the plunge and visit one of many scare attractions across the country where you’ll be made to feel as if you’re starring in your own horror movie – complete with real-life monsters, demons and ghouls, all of which are ready to strike fear into your heart! With so many theme parks, manor halls and year-round attractions offering haunted house maze experiences, you are literally spoilt for choice. I know I definitely want to try and make my way down to The London Bridge Experience and revisit The London Dungeon at some point soon. Maybe I’ll manage to cross the pond for Universal Halloween Horror Nights one year too!

1. THE ULTIMATE MUST-DO… HALLOWEEN DRESS-UP!
I’ve managed to dress up for Halloween pretty much every single year since the age of 4, when I wore my first costume which was, of course, a witch. Over the years, I’ve been a demon, a vampire, a cat, a corpse bride (BEFORE the movie came out), a doll, many variations of ghosts/zombies, a banshee, a goddess, Spiderella, Edward Scissorhands, and Maleficent. I don’t think that’s even a complete comprehensive list, but all I remember from Primary School is the fact I used to win the Costume Contest every single year for making such an effort! I also more recently won an “Oscar” for my Edward Scissorhands costume at a party, which was awesome. Halloween is the one time you can be unlimited with your options, dress up however you want, and go out and have fun… So why wouldn’t you?! Whether you go all out or stick to facepaint… enjoy. Oh, and do let me know what you’re going to be this year in the comments, I love a good costume ideas discussion!

My Social Media Links
Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

