Travel | Disneyland Paris Trip Report | Monday 9th May | Day One

Hi everyone! You may of noticed my blog has been a little quieter this past week – that is because I was busy visiting one of the most magical places on earth: Disneyland Paris!

I’ve visited DLP 4 times previously, and this marked my 5th trip in total (I last visited last November) and my first trip with my boyfriend Rupert who had only visited once 9 years previously. Our trip lasted a total of 3 nights/4 days, and by the last day we both wished we could’ve stayed just a little longer! We both had the most perfect, wonderful time; so, without further ado… Here’s trip report Day One!

We both left very early on Monday 9th as we had to travel down to the Ebbsfleet Eurostar terminal from Norfolk, which takes a roughly a couple of hours by car journey. Ebbsfleet is my favourite terminal to travel from as it’s fairly small and normally pretty quiet and has a relaxed atmosphere. We caught our first train at 9.15am, switched trains at Lille half-way then finally arrived in Marne la Vallée Chessy at 2.10pm local time.

As soon as we arrived, we dropped off our luggage at the Disney Express desk at the station, picked up our all-important park tickets, hotel pass and meal vouchers, then it was time to head straight into Parc Disneyland!

This was both our first time visiting for the Swing Into Spring season, so we took some time to look around at all the beautiful floral decorations and shop window displays on Main Street USA. Afterwards we headed straight into the castle to walk through the gorgeous Le Galerie De La Belle Au Bois Dormant, then took the stairs down to the hidden cave of La Tanière Du Dragon to pay Maleficent a visit in her fiery dragon form.

Our first two rides of the trip were two of my favourites; Pirates Of The Caribbean, and the freshly renovated It’s A Small World! IASW was closed on my last trip so I was very happy to find it open and looking spectacular with the brand new colour scheme.

By this time, it was now 4.30pm – only half hour to go until Disney Magic On Parade! We had a look around the castle interior boutiques as well Harringtons and Bixby Brothers on Main Street while we waited. I ended up buying two shoe ornaments, two pins, 4 Vinylmations, a mini canvas and a pair of Alice-themed Minnie ears (all of which you’ll get to see photos of in my haul posts coming soon!) before we finally grabbed some coffee, hot chocolate and sugar donuts using our free Pause Gourmand vouchers, and watched the magical floats and dancers make their way down the path to “Magic Everywhere“, a song I simply cannot get out of my brain it’s so catchy!

We were told that our hotel room would be available to check into from 4pm, so after we finished watching Disney Magic On Parade, off we went to check into the gorgeous pink 5* Disneyland Hotel that sits right on the Parc Disneyland‘s doorstep. After receiving our key cards, we made our restaurant reservations for that night and the following two days. We decided on Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show that very evening at 9pm, Bistrot Chez Remy on Tuesday at 5.30pm, and finally Auberge Du Cendrillon on Wednesday at 6pm. We booked these using our Premium Meal Vouchers which were all-inclusive with the holiday offer we booked, so all these booked meals were actually entirely free of cost for us – simply amazing!

Our hotel room was a Classic Room with one King-sized bed and a sofa. I cannot begin to describe how incredible the room was – very large and spacey, the bed was super-comfortable, the bathroom was absolutely spotless, and every corner spoke luxury. There was also hidden references to Disney classic movies, such as Sleeping Beauty’s castle on the bed’s headboard, Peter Pan on the tv cabinet/mini bar, and Hyacinth Hippo on the shower tiles. There had unfortunately been a delay with our luggage arriving to our room, but the staff were lovely and got straight onto the problem, informing us that there was a mix up on their part with Room No.’s and that it will be delivered to our room by 8pm.

After dropping off our shop-buys we headed back into Parc Disneyland to explore Discoveryland for the first time, where we rode both Buzz Lightyear’s Laser Blast and Space Mountain. I aimed to beat Rupert at BLLB as I normally do fairly good but unfortunately he’s just too good at it, and bested me by quite a few couple of 1000 points! You can just tell our intensely high levels of concentration from the photo…

imageAfter being catapulted through the galaxy on Space Mountain, we headed to Indiana Jones Temple Of Doom, a rollercoaster I’ve never actually been on at DLP, so I was excited to see if it was any good. Unfortunately, it was crazy jerky and killed my ears with the banging! Rupert said he didn’t mind it but to be honest I much prefer Space Mountain, it’s a far smoother ride and way more enjoyable in my opinion.

It was around 8.30pm by this time, so we headed back to our hotel room to find not only that our luggage had arrived but we also got some pixie dust magic in the form of three DLH chocolates lying across our bed!  I unpinned my hair and changed out of my shorts into my jeans, then off we went into Disney Village for the dinner show we’d been waiting for – Buffalo Bill’s! In all 4 of my previous trips I’d actually never been to BBWWS, so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect other than Cowboys, Indians and horses, but Rupert had been before and told me a little about it before we went in without giving too much away. We were both pleasantly surprised to see Goofy dancing away to “Pistol Packin’ Mama” on the pre-show stage, the song is featured in Fallout 4 which is one of our favourite video games so that was a fun little fandom cross-over to witness!

imageI have to say that BBWWS ended up being one of the biggest highlights of our whole trip. The food and drink was both tasty and plentiful as the waiters kept bringing it round and round in sizeable portions. The show itself is definitely a must-see, it’s fast-paced, exciting, and even has Mickey and friends as part of the story to keep it authentically Disney at its heart. It’s also has a whole bunch of audience participation, as I soon found out when I somehow got picked on from the whole audience to ride in the stagecoach! Me, who didn’t even put my hand up to participate! It was Rupert who had his hand up but I got picked on anyway, haha! However, I ended up really enjoying being whizzed around the arena in the stagecoach, it was an awesome experience for a BBWWS first-timer such as myself and Rupert couldn’t stop laughing at the fact I got picked!

The show ended roughly just after 11pm, by this time the parks had been closed for a while but Disney Village was still very much alive and buzzing, so we did a little exploring around the shops of DV. I bought myself a couple of tops from my personal favourite DV store Disney Fashion, and we had a good look around the Disney Gallery as well as World Of Disney, the Lego Store and the Disney Store. The shops closed at 12am, by which time me and Rupert had both been awake for at least 19 hours(!) and sleep was most certainly desired, so we called it a night and headed back to our lovely hotel room, incredibly tired, but also very excited we were finally in Disneyland and looking forward to the next three days ahead.

I hope you enjoyed reading Day One of my report. Day Two coming tomorrow!

Want to see more from our Disneyland Paris trip? Follow me on:
Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

3 thoughts on “Travel | Disneyland Paris Trip Report | Monday 9th May | Day One”

Leave a Reply

