Cosplay | Tim Burton’s Alice In Wonderland | Norwich Big Geek Meet

Hi everyone! If you follow me on any of my social media accounts, you’ve probably seen a few photos already of my Alice cosplay, but I didn’t give too much details of why, where, what I was actually up to. Well, the answer is… I attended my first ever Norwich Big Geek Meet!

image.jpeg

Norwich Big Geek Meet is hosted by a company named Animeleague who organise Big Geek Meets all over the UK, free-to-attend events that welcome anybody and everybody who love all things nerdy to meet up, cosplay, and have fun!

image

Although I have had a blast dressing up for fancy dress parties and for Scare Actor work in the past, this was my first ever “proper” cosplay. Whatever I chose for my first cosplay I decided just had to be Disney-related (I’m sure you can tell how much of a DisNerd I am from the majority of my blog content!), so I decided on Alice Kingsleigh from Disney/Tim Burton’s live action Alice In Wonderland.

image

There’s a few reasons why I chose this particular Alice; a) I love the Tim Burton movie, it’s amazing and I cannot wait for the sequel this month, b) I think Alice’s blue dress from the movie is just beautiful and, most importantly, c) Alice has always been one of my all-time favourite Disney characters, but Mia Wasikowska’s Alice was, in my opinion, a perfect portrayal of her inquisitive, curious personality and adventurous free-spirit.

image

The whole day was a brilliant experience, we had a wonderful time and met so many lovely people, everyone’s cosplays were spot-on and looked incredible. I think it’s safe to say we’ll be attending the next one in July! I’m currently running a poll on Twitter (which ends Monday 9th May) as I need help deciding what Disney character I should cosplay at the next event. If you can head over to my Twitter (@MandyJean) and vote for who you’d like to see out of the four options, I’d be very grateful!

image

All photos in this post were taken on the day by Oowen Photography.

Want more Cosplay? Follow me on:
Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin’

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

