Travel | My Top 10 Disneyland Paris Attractions

Happy 24th Anniversary to Disneyland Paris today!

Like every awesome Disney Park, Disneyland Paris is full of phenomenal attractions! There’s dark rides, live shows, roller coasters… And lots of hidden gems too. Here’s my Top 10 Countdown of my personal favourite attractions at DLP.

10. ART OF ANIMATION
I love this attraction because it is SO unique, it’s the real heart of the Walt Disney Studios. Art Of Animation consists of 4 showrooms, detailing several elements of the history of the Walt Disney Company and its movies. The cinema showroom got me feeling all nostalgic and emotional, but the real highlight is seeing Mushu from Mulan spring to life in the next room and heavily interact with the on-stage animator! You can also learn how to sketch your favourite characters in the final room with real Disney artists. Can it get more magical?

9. ALICE’S CURIOUS LABYRINTH
How do you get to Wonderland, you ask? Follow the White Rabbit into the labyrinth, of course! This is an exclusive attraction to Disneyland Paris, and it’s one of many aspects of what makes it special. I love this attraction as you can walk through and discover the delightful chaos of Wonderland at your own pace. There’s even the Queen Of Heart’s castle to explore, climb to the top and you’ll find one of the best views of the whole of Fantasyland! Oh, did I also mention there’s a rather mad Tea Party just waiting for you to attend? If you’re a huge fan of Alice In Wonderland like I am, this attraction will become a real staple for your every visit.

8. RATATOUILLE: THE ADVENTURE
An exciting fairly new addition to DLP, you won’t find this exclusive 3D ride in any another Disney park across the globe. Climb aboard a trackless ‘ratmobile’ and discover what it feels like to be in Remy’s paws as you scuttle across the kitchen floor and escape from the perilous dangers of being a rat! I’ve rode twice now and both experiences were unique, as the trackless technology means you experience a different adventure each time. Ratatouille is one of my favourite Pixar movies and this attraction really brings the story to life. Also, be sure to explore the whole area outside the ride itself… It’s absolutely gorgeous.

7. PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN
My favourite Adventureland attraction! Obviously POTC is extremely popular thanks to the live action movie franchise, but Disneyland Paris’s version of the attraction is the last POTC in the world that has been left exactly how Walt envisioned it; just good ol’ scally-wag pirates singing about their daily life, while presumably drinking lots of rum… Or is the rum always gone? I cannot be too sure. The Cast Members who operate this ride are always super in-character and make the whole experience much more fun when stepping aboard your boat and setting off on the adventure. I always try to do a funny ‘pose’ for the hidden camera on the way down the waterfall drop!

6. IT’S A SMALL WORLD
Some people like it, some not so much… But personally, I LOVE It’s A Small World! It was closed for refurbishment on my last visit back in November and I honestly really missed it. I feel it’s a vital part of Fantasyland with its big colourful building and the cutesy fountain. It’s also got one of the shortest wait times out of every ride, as it has plenty of spaces on the boats for everyone to take a voyage around the world in only a few minutes! The singing dolls are so sweet, I love spotting all the different outfits, props and scenes, I swear I still see something new every time. And yes, I DO love the song! SO CATCHY.

5. THE FANTASYLAND DARK RIDES
Yes, I know… This is technically 3 separate attractions: Peter Pan’s Flight, Les Voyages De Pinocchio, and Blanche-Neige Et Les Sept Nains (Snow White And The Seven Dwarfs). They’re all next door to each other, and I love them all equally. These dark rides to me represent the best of Golden Age Disney animation brought to life, and three of my all-time favourite Disney movies. There’s so much nostalgia factor throughout each of them. I remember that Blanche-Neige Et Les Sept Nains was the FIRST EVER Disneyland ride I stepped foot upon… And I still get chills from the shock of the Evil Queen spinning round to reveal herself as the Old Hag! It’s now a tradition that this trio of unforgettable tales are the first attractions I head to each trip. Don’t you just love having your own Disneyland Traditions?

4. PHANTOM MANOR
If you love spooky ghost stories like I do, Phantom Manor is for you! This is DLP’s version of the Haunted Mansion that can be found at the popular US parks, but what makes Phantom Manor special is that it’s unique story and dark themes are completely unique to Disneyland Paris. The story centres around ravishing bride Melanie Ravenswood, and the mystery of her vanishing groom… Could it be the works of the terrifying Phantom that has shown up on her doorstep with his gang of ghoulish friends? You’ll have to brave a journey into the Ravenswood Manor to find out… Be sure to check out the full Phantom Manor backstory online at http://www.ravenswood-manor.com ; it’s incredibly in-depth and goes into detail about the attraction many characters and will even further your enjoyment of the attraction.

3. THE TWILIGHT ZONE TOWER OF TERROR
By far my favourite thrill ride at DLP, let alone the Walt Disney Studios park, the Hollywood Tower Hotel is seriously not to be missed. The whole experience works so well together; the run-down vintage theme, the eerie Bell Hop Cast Members, and most importantly, the tense atmosphere in the pre-show that builds to a hell-raising climax in the final elevator drop. So much imagineering magic went into the creation of this one-of-a-kind attraction.

2. DISNEY MAGIC ON PARADE
I like to class the daily parade as an attraction in its own right as it’s truly INCREDIBLE. Disney Magic On Parade is always one of the most exciting parts of a day in Disneyland as you anticipate that first beautiful float turning the corner, then celebrates its way down Main Street USA with a wonderful mix of waves, smiles, music and dancing. The parade is also the best way to see many characters at once… And interact with them! I can’t even put into words how awesome it is when a parade character randomly picks you to skip up to at the side of the route and gives you a hug, as Winnie the Pooh did for me. Everyone else standing around me was soooooo jealous. Be sure to cheer on your favourites, and you never know, maybe you’ll get a bear hug too!

1. LE CHÂTEAU DE LA BELLE AU BOIS DORMANT
You can’t have Disneyland without the castle, after all! I personally feel that DLP’s pastel pink castle is the most beautiful of all the Disney parks. Not only does it stand majestic in the centre of the main park, but it also houses two mini attractions of its own; “La Gallerie de la Belle au Bois Dormant”, an upstairs walkthrough gallery that recounts the story of Sleeping Beauty through tapestries, props and stained glass windows, and “La Tanière du Dragon”, an underground secret cave that’s home to a huge live firebreathing dragon! The castle is also the main stage for the breath-taking nighttime spectacular Disney Dreams, which is arguably the one show that you just HAVE to watch every Disney trip because it’s so magical and will live on in your memories forever.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my favourite attractions! I could’ve included so many more but at the end of day, but that would’ve been waaaay too long a list! What is your favourite Disneyland Paris attraction? Did I miss it off my list? Do you agree with my No. 1? Feel free to chat everything and anything DLP-related with me by tweeting me @MandyJean .

Author: Mandy Jean

Hi there! I'm a 21 year old Disney, lifestyle, fashion, beauty and pop culture blogger. When I'm not busy writing away my thoughts, I operate my own professional make-up artistry business in Norfolk, UK.

Leave a Reply

